Hello world! My first day eating no dairy, soy, wheat, tomatoes,fish, nuts,and eggs and I already failed:(

So I have to go on this extreme diet because I have  Eosinophilic Esophagitis which may or may not be related to the constant pain I have in my gut.  I thought I was doing great – no protein drink in the morning like I normally would do – they all have soy or milk in them.  I had applesauce.  I had boiled potatoes and I thought, “great there’s some leftover pulled pork with barbecue sauce – I can have that!  No dairy, soy, wheat, eggs, fish, nuts in that!” I forgot about TOMATOES!  So I failed on my first day.  I then made myself a big list taking one whole page with Tomatoes at the top! and posted it in the kitchen.  As a reminder.  I crave crave sweets when I am stressed or upset which is bad bad because sweets make my gut hurt worse and make my diarrhea way worse.  Desserts have everything on that list also, don’t they?  But then I remembered an old recipe and thought I would make it new, with nothing on my list.  I doubled checked!  So here is my first fully approved dessert recipe free of TOMATOES, dairy, soy, wheat, fish, nuts, and eggs.

Chocolate Rice Pudding

3/4 cup cooked white rice

2 Tbls  cocoa powder (unsweetened)

2 Tbls cornstarch

1/2 sugar

3/4 cup water

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix well cocoa powder cornstarch and sugar until there are no lumps of cocoa in a sauce pan.  Add water.  On medium heat stir constantly until mixture begins to stick to bottom of the pan – it is almost done.  Keep stirring.  Mixture should be thickening.  Keep stirring until thick and glossy.  Remove from heat.  Should be consistency of pudding.  Stir in Vanilla. You can add more water if it seems to thick.  Stir in rice.  Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

