Burned Red Pepper Sauce

So today I made roasted red pepper sauce which of course started with red peppers.  The red peppers were not all that great in the store, but they were ok.

They were better even 10 days ago but for some reason the supply here seems to have dried up.    I decided to change the name to burned red pepper sauce because whenever I make this no matter how I warn my parents I always have a conversation about, “what’s burning?”  “nothing mom, just making roasted red pepper sauce”  “are you sure it’s not burning?”  “no mom”  Every time!  So now I will just call it burned red pepper sauce so they will know in advance.  This is the way I like my peppers to look after I put them in the broiler:

And no matter what the chefs do on tv roasting a red pepper and preparing it for use is not easy.  This is what it looks like half way through

It’s messy and time consuming, but so worth it.  I have never had roasted red peppers out of a jar taste so good.    So here’s the recipe that contains no gluten/wheat, soy, dairy, eggs, nuts, tomatoes and I’m forgetting one thing hmmm – but I know it’s not in here.

2 whole ripe red peppers

1/2 sweet onion diced

1-2 carrots peeled and roughly chopped

1 cup stock – chicken, vegetable, mushroom

Roast red peppers – I roast them under the broiler of my standard oven.  I roast them until they look burned all they way around- they don’t really burn.  You have to turn them every 3 – 5 minutes.  I usually put them in a dish and cover for ten minutes while they are still hot.  Then take a small sharp knife and gently scrape away all the black which should just flake away.  I try and leave the pepper whole.  Try and save any juice that comes off the pepper – this is super concentrated and yummy.  I open the pepper up and clean out all the seeds and then roughly chop it.  In a sauce pan sweat the onions on medium low heat with a little salt for 5 – 10 minutes until they are soft and translucent.  Add the carrots.  I usually put in 2 carrots if they are small, one if it is medium or larger sized.   Add the chopped roasted peppers.  Add the stock.  bring to a boil and reduce heat to a low boil.  Cover and simmer for 30 minutes.  Check that the carrots are done (soft when you put a fork through them).  I use a stick blender to whiz it up until smooth, but you could put it in a blender.  If this isn’t thick enough you can in an emergency boil another carrot and add and whiz that in, or boil a potato and whiz that in as well.  If it is too thick you can add more stock.  If you want this as a soup you could add another cup of stock or until it is as thin as you like.  I love this over chicken, or rice.  Great with noodles (which I can’t have anymore!)  Also very good over quinoa. (think I spelled that wrong)  Good with fish as well.  You could add capers to it.  It might be good with ginger, but I really prefer it with just the pure taste of the roasted pepper.  So good.

Note – just because you can eat something (not restricted by diet) doesn’t mean you should.  I found that Fritos are only corn, which means that they are not restricted by my diet  – yeah!  However I am living with much pain because of Fritos.  I will continue looking for a snack food that I can eat that won’t cause me pain.   No change overall yet by being on this diet.  No magic cure of course.  I’ve heard of people being off of gluten and feeling immediately better within days.  Well – it has only been 48 hours so may I will wake up in the morning with no pain!

Leave a Reply

