Water Torture + Hurray the Food Bank!

I forgot to mention that part of my diet is water torture.  I have to drink 2 – 3 liters of water every day.

that means 1 to 1.5 of these pitchers everyday.  My doctor put the emphasis on 3 liters.  I realize they say 2 liters (64 ounces or 8 eight ounce cups) but as I approach the 2 liter mark I swear my eyeballs feel like they are floating.

Yesterday I was sick – I failed and only ate apple sauce and a little hummus with mushrooms.  Today is better.  We got a box from the food bank – with food that I can eat!

Baby new potatoes!  Fresh fruit! And bananas for banana bread – I can’t eat banana bread but my parents love it.  There were enough bananas for my sister to make a loaf for her family also.  And best of all –

Chickens knecks that I made a wonderful stock with.  I was able to use some of my beautiful sage and make a wonderful chicken grave with some canned mushrooms (ran out of fresh) that was so good over the new potatoes.

I used 2 TBLS of the fat I skimmed off the chicken broth to sweat down a little bit of onion added some sage and dried oregano (I love sage and oregano together) then added about 2 cups of chicken stock.  I added some chopped chicken breast and a can of mushrooms.  Brought it up to a boil and then mixed 2 TBLS of cornstarch with 1 cup of stock and poured it in the chicken gravy.  I let it simmer on med. low for a few minutes.  It was so good, and I can have everything in it – no gluten, eggs, fish, dairy, nuts, soy or tomatoes.   (I had a slight reaction to tomatoes on my allergy test.  To be on the safe side, I have to eliminate them.  I miss tomatoes)

Tomorrow I will figure out what to do with the sweet potato and make more carrot soup.  This time I will use dill I think.

Leave a Reply

