Philip the Handsome

Portrait of Philip the Handsome by Juan De Flandes 1460 – 1519

 

 

Dear Mother,

I cannot find a wife.
You assured me,
You promised
All the women
Would come calling.
Instead they are coy
And hide behind
Their fans
And all their plans.
I threw the gala
With everyone
You invited
Just as you said
And they came
And they ate
But only
Aunt Beatrice
Made me
Dance with
Cousin Margo
There were no
Other takers
They left
My house
In a mess
You must come
You know what
To do
Dear mother
Your darling,

Philip the Handsome

Image Credit

Leave a Reply

