Swinging on the Moon

Untitled Digital photo by Shawn Van Daele
Untitled Digital photo by Shawn Van Daele

Photo Credit>@

Romantic Overtures

Lisa Cox

 

Let me dip
My toe in the
Moon beam
So I can believe
Or suspend
Belief
And sit with you
On a swing
Suspended from
The moon

Teach me how
To swoon
While you row
Me across a still
Pond ignoring
Mosquitoes
Sunburn and
All thoughts
Of water born
Illness

Show me how
To dance with
Lightness and grace
Across a great hall
While I stumble
In heels that
Make my feet
Feel like they’ve
Stepped upon
By elephants

Give me lessons
In self-control
As we sit in a
French restaurant
And the bill is
More than I make
In a week

Give me a map
So I know
That this isn’t
All for show
And in the end
I’ll know
Who the heck are you?

Leave a Reply

