I cannot let go of these things

Things We Can't Let Go Of by Jared Tyler
Things We Can’t Let Go Of by Jared Tyler

 

Repeating

Lisa Cox

When I spoke
The words took flight
Flocking round my
Head like moths
Swirling the porch light
I wanted them out
And free of me
But they stayed
Battering me with
Their wings
So delicate
So sharp
These things
These things
These things
Scold if you will
Say if you will that
Repetition alone
Will not make them
Real
Sheer repetition makes
Them ugly makes
Them unbearable
Unlivable
I am broken by
The repletion of lies
I am broken by
Hatred that ends
“This comes from God”
I am breaking under
The weight of being
Less than because
I have less, because
I was born a woman
Because my body
Is broken and it must
Be my fault so I must
Suffer for my broken
Body and help must
Be denied to teach me
A lesson about hard
Work, about taking
Responsibility, about lack
Of faith
I scream silently every
Day every day every day
And I will repeat because
This repetition was born
Outside of me, it is a hammer
That comes from those
Who make laws and sit
In pulpits and walk
Around with guns as
Their God given right
While people die right
And left and guns don’t
Kill people
These thoughts I released
Have returned and flutter
Round and round
Striking and shrieking
These things I cannot
Let go

The Lives We've Led and the Dreams We've Let Go of by Jared Tyler
The Lives We’ve Led and the Dreams We’ve Let Go of by Jared Tyler

 

Leo by Jared Tyler
Leo by Jared Tyler

 

Too Far is as Close as He's Ever Been by Jared Tyler
Too Far is as Close as He’s Ever Been by Jared Tyler

All Photography is by Jared Tyler.  To see more go here>@

 

Katie Gray – Set Free

Leave a Reply

