The Mysterious Paintings of Tran Nguyen

Bedridden Mementos by Tran Nguyen
Bedridden Mementos by Tran Nguyen

 

Tran Nguyen artwork defies easy classification.  Her work is filled with symbolism and imagery and yet does not fall into the category of “surrealism”.  Her works are haunting and yet whimsical.  They are full of detail, and it takes a long look to fully take in all that the artist has poured into the work.  You can see more of her work here and here.

.

Taste for Bittersweet Beds
Taste for Bittersweet Beds

.

No Place to Rest Your Head

Lisa Cox

There in the snow globe

Nestled in my pocket

It holds my home

Once it was a castle

Larger than Spain

Filled with so many rooms

And strange things

I spent my childhood

Exploring my home

Every door led to some

Place exotic

Every drawer held

Secrets while every day

Was one more day

‘Til a birthday, or a holiday

Or the day school

Would start, or end

Until it shrank and

Wasn’t so big and

I bumped my elbows on

Every dresser

And fought with my sister

For the bathroom

And there was no more

Room in the closet

And my clothes no longer

Fit right

And I no longer

Fit in my home

And it shrunk

So I carry it

Around in a snow globe

In my pocket

So I won’t lose it

My home

.

Sleeping with Nostalgia
Sleeping with Nostalgia

 

 

A Place We Once Homed
A Place We Once Homed

 

 

A Cornered Keepsake
A Cornered Keepsake

 

 

When the World-
When the World-

 

 

Treading Through and Untrimmed Memory
Treading Through and Untrimmed Memory

 

 

 

A sentimental Swallow
A sentimental Swallow

 

Bon Iver – The Wolves

One comment

Leave a Reply

