Black and White Photos of Iceland by Michael Schlegel

Reykjanes I by Michael Schlegel
Reykjanes I by Michael Schlegel

 

Michael Schlegel is a photographer from Berlin, Germany.  He stunning works in black and white span the globe.  These works from Iceland are a prime example of his body of work.  I love black and white photography because sometimes it seems that after the intensity of the web with all the colors, ads, and moving things that black and white images are a relief and a refuge.  Spending time with these images helps restore my mind and soul with their clean lines and uncluttered and undemanding presence.    There is a stillness about them, even when they depict crashing waves that I think is necessary in modern life.  You can find more of Michael Schlegel’s work here, here, here, and on his Facebook page.

.

Seljalandsfoss IV
Seljalandsfoss IV

 

Towards the Atlantic II
Towards the Atlantic II

 

Fire and Ice

By  Robert Frost

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.
.
The Arch
The Arch

 

Reykjanes II
Reykjanes II

 

Vestrahorn I
Vestrahorn I

 

Mountains made of Steam
Mountains made of Steam

 

 

Hornafjördur II
Hornafjördur II

 

 

Leave a Reply

