Art, Painting, Poetry

Asleep

The Rose Bower ~ Edward Burne-Jones (1885-90)
The Rose Bower ~ Edward Burne-Jones (1885-90)

Asleep in the Summer

Lisa Cox

I sleep through
Drowsy summer
Days
While my state
Is burning down
Rousing I shift
The smell
Of smoke heavy
In the air
I sleep
As children
Cross countries
Fleeing
Fleeing
Fleeing
Trying to find
Safe harbor
The cool side
Of my pillow helps
Me drift back into
Dreams
As faraway
Drunkards with no
Clear purpose
Rummage through
The wreckage and
Remains shot
Down from the sky
They did not
Fly high enough
To avoid war
Below
I am asleep
As a grieving world
Tries and fails
To grasp why
Children keep dying
In war, on street corners,
In their beds
And so the moon rises
While nightmares take
Hold of me
From which I cannot wake

The Civil Wars – Dust to Dust

Leave a Reply

