Understanding This New Art Movement of Defacement Part 2

Part 1

Part 3

 

So Is this All Surrealism?

I have to ask myself – does all this art of defacement fall under the heading of surrealism?  These following examples are defined as surrealism (not by me – by actual art experts) –

Head of Dylan Thomas by Eileen Agar
Head of Dylan Thomas by Eileen Agar

 

And this –

Untitled by Zdislav Beksinski
Untitled by Zdislav Beksinski

 

and this –

Combate by Gunther Gerzso
Combate by Gunther Gerzso

The one thing that I see in the all of the Surrealism work that I surveyed is that they also all fall into the symbolic genre.  They are all full of symbolism.  Even if the faces presented are distorted, it is in service of symbolism in the larger work.  The other works are not symbolic, such as:

Untitled by Eduardo Mata Icaza
Untitled by Eduardo Mata Icaza

 

Untitled by Ian Francis UK
Untitled by Ian Francis UK

 

Now this next piece, I’m taking a stab in the dark, but I believe it is either a caricature, or a symbolic representation but either way I don’t think it is surrealism.

 

Mahatma Gandhi by Thomas Barwick
Mahatma Gandhi by Thomas Barwick

 

This next may appear surreal but it is actually a photo that has had dissolving fluid applied to it – literally dissolving the face and smearing it.

 

Untitled by  Kuinexs
dissolution #49 (the kiss)

So these new works, I don’t think they qualify as surrealism.  What about their link to violence that mentioned earlier?  I have been putting that off because it troubles me.

 

Part 3 Are these works a metaphor for violence?

 

Glen Hansard – The Storm, it’s Coming

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

