4th of July

Happy 4th of July 2015

Like Barley Bending

4th of July by Childe Hassam 1916

Learning to Love America

BY SHIRLEY GEOK-LIN LIM

because it has no pure products
because the Pacific Ocean sweeps along the coastline
because the water of the ocean is cold
and because land is better than ocean
because I say we rather than they
because I live in California
I have eaten fresh artichokes
and jacaranda bloom in April and May
because my senses have caught up with my body
my breath with the air it swallows
my hunger with my mouth
because I walk barefoot in my house
because I have nursed my son at my breast
because he is a strong American boy
because I have seen his eyes redden when he is asked who he is
because he answers I don’t know
because to have a son is to have a country
because my son will bury me here
because…

View original post 26 more words

Leave a Reply

